The Latest

News | 19 October 2018

Live broadcast of the 2018 Tucker Gala on medici.tv


On Sunday, October 21, the Richard Tucker Music Foundation’s annual gala concert – one of the most highly anticipated operatic events of the season – will bring a galaxy of opera stars to the stage of Carnegie Hall. And opera-lovers around the world unable to make it in person will still have the opportunity to watch the performance live. Thanks to the foundation’s partnership with medici.tv, the gala concert will be webcast live (6pm ET/3pm PT), free of charge, both on medici.tv and on medici.tv’s Facebook page, and made available for on-demand viewing for 90 days afterwards. In addition, the Richard Tucker Music Foundation continues its collaboration with WQXR 105.9 FM, New York’s sole dedicated classical radio station, which will broadcast the performance to listeners in the New York metropolitan region and online at www.wqxr.org on November 10 at 1pm ET/10am PT.

The concert features bass-baritone Christian Van Horn, winner of the 2018 Richard Tucker Award, with a host of opera luminaries from around the world: soprano Anna Netrebko, tenors Javier Camarena and Yusif Eyvazov, baritone Quinn Kelsey, and five past Tucker Award-winners: sopranos Christine Goerke, Angela Meade, and Nadine Sierra; mezzo-soprano Stephanie Blythe; and tenor Michael Fabiano. This starry lineup will join forces for an evening of favorite arias and ensembles under the baton of Marco Armiliato, with the support of the New York Choral Society and members of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra. Click here to see Netrebko’s encore at the 2016 Tucker Gala.

 
Tune in here!