Category: News

Tucker Grant and Award Winners featured in Summer Festivals

This summer, winners of the Richard Tucker Study and Career grants take to the festival stages. Tenor Joshua Guerrero and soprano Rachel Willis-Sorenson are featured at the Glyndebourne Festival, Guerrero as Pinkerton in Madama Butterfly, and Willis-Sorenson as Marschallin in Der Rosenkavalier,

Read More

Q&A with 2018 Sara Tucker Study Grant-winner Zoie Reams

We regularly hear from the winners of the Richard Tucker Award, but we also love to share the stories and experiences of our younger artists. Hear from 2018 Sara Tucker Study Grant-winner Zoie Reams, who spends the summer at Wolf Trap and is a big fan of Michael Jackson.

Read More

2018 Sara Tucker Study Grant and Richard Tucker Career Grants

Richard Tucker Career Grants and Sara Tucker Study Grants

In addition to Christian Van Horn’s win, the foundation has conferred study and career grants on ten more young American artists. Three 2018 Richard Tucker Career Grants of $10,000 each, awarded to young singers who have already performed with professional companies,

Read More

Q&A session with Maestro Riccardo Frizza

Experience our first ever “virtual masterclass,” where world-renowned artists answer questions from aspiring singers! Riccardo Frizza, Italian Maestro and conductor of the 2013 Richard Tucker Gala, answers questions submitted by young singers around the world. Check out the full video here, and stay tuned for future videos!

Read More

Participate in our first virtual masterclass!

We’re launching a question and answer series for young artists, starting with the celebrated Maestro Riccardo Frizza!

Maestro Frizza has conducted opera productions all over the world, including Milan’s Teatro alla Scala, The Metropolitan Opera, the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, and the Richard Tucker Music Foundation’s own 2013 gala.

Read More

Study Grant Winners in Colorado

On February 13, select Sara Tucker Study Grant winners traveled to Beaver Creek, Colorado to perform at the Vilar Performing Arts Center. The morning performance, titled STARS: Rising Stars of the Opera, catered to students and audiences less familiar with opera. The program of opera hits featured soprano Vanessa Vasquez,

Read More

Study and Career Grant Auditions 2018

The dates for the annual auditions for the Sara Tucker Study Grant and Richard Tucker Career Grant have been announced. On April 3 and 4, singers from across the country will gather at the 92Y to perform in front of a panel of singers and artistic administrators.

Read More

Listen to the 2017 Richard Tucker Gala from WQXR

Enjoy a replay of the 2017 Richard Tucker Gala, broadcast live from Carnegie Hall on WQXR. Celebrate opera’s greatest night and hear performances by 2017 Tucker Award winner Nadine Sierra, and stars Stephanie Blythe, Tara Erraught, Vittorio Grigolo, Ailyn Perez, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Ekaterina Semenchuk,

Read More

Nadine Sierra Named 2017 Richard Tucker Award Winner

Soprano Nadine Sierra – who at 28-years-old is already establishing herself as a fixture at many of the world’s leading opera houses, including those of Paris, Milan, Berlin, and New York – has been named the winner of the 2017 Richard Tucker Award. The announcement comes on the heels of Sierra’s performances last month as Ilia in the Metropolitan Opera’s Idomeneo under James Levine,

Read More